This glazed brick building, the lower structure on the left side of the historic photograph, was built it 1928 replacing a small wooden building which housed a cobbler shop and a variety store. It represents a unique example in Snoqualmie of a vernacular interpretation of the 1920s Moderne (or “streamlined modern”) commercial design. The original developer and/or owner has not been identified. Louis A. Wade, who served as a justice in Snoqualmie Falls, purchased the building in 1933. From tax records, it appears that in 1940 the property housed the offices of Valley Insurance and Copass & Hall Lawyers.